Atomic Structure

An atom is a complex arrangement of negatively charged electrons arranged in defined shells about a positively charged nucleus. This nucleus contains most of the atom's mass and is composed of protons and neutrons (except for common hydrogen which has only one proton). All atoms are roughly the same size. A convenient unit of length for measuring atomic sizes is the angstrom (Å), which is defined as 1 × 10-10 meters. The diameter of an atom is approximately 2-3 Å.

In 1897, J. J. Thomson discovered the existence of the electron, marking the beginning of modern atomic physics. The negatively charged electrons follow a random pattern within defined energy shells around the nucleus. Most properties of atoms are based on the number and arrangement of their electrons. The mass of an electron is 9.1 × 10-31 kilograms.

One of the two types of particles found in the nucleus is the proton. The existence of a positively charged particle, a proton, in the nucleus was proved by Sir Ernest Rutherford in 1919. The proton's charge is equal but opposite to the negative charge of the electron. The number of protons in the nucleus of an atom determines what kind of chemical element it is. A proton has a mass of 1.67 × 10-27 kilograms.

The neutron is the other type of particle found in the nucleus. It was discovered by a British physicist, Sir James Chadwick. The neutron carries no electrical charge and has the same mass as the proton. With a lack of electrical charge, the neutron is not repelled by the cloud of electrons or by the nucleus, making it a useful tool for probing the structure of the atom.

Even the individual protons and neutrons have internal structure, called quarks. Six types of quarks exist. These subatomic particles cannot be freed and studied in isolation. Current research continues into the structure of the atom.