Ohio-class submarine

Ohio-class submarine
Ohio-class submarine

The sea leg of the United States' nuclear-deterrent triad is based aboard the Ohio-class submarine. The Ohio class of nuclear-powered submarines includes the United States Navy's 14 ballistic missile submarines (SSBNs) and its four cruise missile submarines (SSGNs).

The 14 SSBNs together carry about half of U.S. active strategic thermonuclear warheads. As part of the New START treaty, four tubes on each SSBN will be deactivated, leaving each ship with only 20 available for war loads.

The Ohio class is to be replaced by the Columbia class beginning in 2031.

General Characteristics

Builders: General Dynamics Electric Boat Division.
Power Plant: One S8G nuclear reactor core reloaded every nine years
two geared steam turbines,
one shaft, output of 60,000 hp
Length: 560 feet (170.69 meters)
Beam: 42 feet (10.06 meters)
Displacement: Surfaced: 16,764 tons
Submerged:18,750 tons
Speed: Official: 20+ knots (23+ miles per hour, 36.8 +kph)
Actual: 25 knots submerged speed
Operating Depth: Official: "greater than 800 feet"
Actual: greater than 1,000 feet
Armament: 24 - tubes for Trident I and II,
4 - torpedo tubes with Mk48 Torpedoes
Sensors: BQQ-6 Bow mounted sonar; BQR-19 Navigation; BQS-13 Active sonar; TB-16 towed array
Crew: 15 Officers, 140 Enlisted
Unit Operating Cost
Annual Average
Date Deployed: November 11, 1981 (USS Ohio)